The University of Otago is a Sun Microsystems OpenSPARC Centre of Excellence. As the first Centre selected outside of the United States this is a significant achievement for the university.

The Centre was officially opened by Mr Kevin Mayo (Sun Microsystems Chief Technology Officer for Education and Research for Australia and New Zealand) on 19th September 2008.  The University of Otago official press release is available here.

From left to right: Professor Martin Purvis (Head of Information Science Department), Mr Nicolas Erdody (World 45 Solutions), Mr Kevin Mayo (CTO Sun Microsystems Education & Research, Australia and NZ), Mr Lindsay Brown (Chancellor), Dr Brendan McCane (Head of Computer Science Department), Dr Mariusz Nowostawski (Lecturer Information Science Department), Dr Zhiyi Huang (Senior Lecturer Computer Science Department).